Menu Close

Who is the MP for Plymouth?

Who is the MP for Plymouth?

Luke Pollard

Luke Pollard MP
Member of Parliament for Plymouth Sutton & Devonport
Assumed office 8 June 2017
Preceded by Oliver Colvile

Is Harriet Harman an MP?

Harriet Ruth Harman QC (born 30 July 1950) is a British politician and solicitor who has served as Member of Parliament (MP) for Camberwell and Peckham, formerly Peckham, since 1982. A member of the Labour Party, she has served in various Cabinet and Shadow Cabinet positions.

WHO has 650 members in the House of Commons?

The Commons is an elected body consisting of 650 members known as members of Parliament (MPs). MPs are elected to represent constituencies by the first-past-the-post system and hold their seats until Parliament is dissolved. The House of Commons of England started to evolve in the 13th and 14th centuries.

Who was the longest served parliamentarian in the world?

The longest span of service of an MP since the start of the 20th century was Winston Churchill who was first elected on 1 October 1900 and left the House of Commons on 25 September 1964, a period of 63 years 360 days.

Who is MP for Ivybridge?

South West Devon (UK Parliament constituency)

South West Devon
Major settlements Plympton, Plymstock and Ivybridge
Current constituency
Created 1997
Member of Parliament Gary Streeter (Conservative)

Who is Johnny Mercer married to?

Felicity Cornelius-Mercer
Johnny Mercer/Spouse

Who is Father of the House now UK?

List of Fathers of the House since 1899

Name Entered Parliament Left House
Kenneth Clarke 1970 2019
Sir Peter Bottomley 1975 Incumbent

Who is mother of the house?

On 13 June 2017, Harriet Harman was dubbed “Mother of the House” by Prime Minister Theresa May, in recognition of her status as the longest-continuously-serving woman MP.

Does the Queen have power?

It’s true that her role as the British head of state is largely ceremonial, and the Monarch no longer holds any serious power from day to day. The historic “prerogative powers” of the Sovereign have been devolved largely to government ministers.

Who is India’s most time CM?

List of longest-serving Indian chief ministers

# Chief Minister Term length
1 Pawan Kumar Chamling (b. 22 September 1950) 24 years, 165 days
2 Jyoti Basu (8 July 1914 – 17 January 2010) 23 years, 137 days
3 Gegong Apang (b. 8 July 1949) 22 years, 250 days
4 Naveen Patnaik* (b. 16 October 1946) 21 years, 216 days

How old is the youngest Lord?

Youngest member of the House of Lords The youngest member of the House is Lord Harlech (born 1 July 1986), a hereditary peer who was elected at a by-election under the House of Lords Act 1999 in July 2021 aged 35.

Who are the members of Parliament for Plymouth?

MPs 1442–1640 Parliament First member Second member 1510 Henry Strete John Bryan 1512 Robert Bowring Legh 1515 John Orenge ? 1523 ?

When did Plymouth become a part of the UK?

Plymouth was a parliamentary borough in Devon, which elected two members of parliament (MPs) to the House of Commons in 1298 and again from 1442 until 1918, when the borough was merged with the neighbouring Devonport and the combined area divided into three single-member constituencies.

Why was Plymouth a safe constituency for the government?

Because of the importance of the naval dockyard to the town’s prosperity, Plymouth fell under the influence of the government very early, and from at least the late 17th century was regarded as a safe constituency where ministers could nominate both members with little likelihood of serious opposition.

Why was Plymouth a borough of the Unreformed Parliament?

Plymouth was a major port, both naval and commercial, and unlike many of the boroughs of the unreformed parliament fully merited its status both for its importance and its population. (It was one of the few boroughs that retained both its members in the short-lived reform of the electoral system during the Commonwealth .)