Menu Close

What 4 territories did Spain have under their control?

What 4 territories did Spain have under their control?

As a result Spain lost its control over the remains of its overseas empire — Cuba, Puerto Rico, the Philippines Islands, Guam, and other islands.

Which 4 areas in the Americas did the Spanish colonize?

From 1492 to the 1800s, Spanish explorers were the bullies of the New World. Beginning with Columbus in 1492 and continuing for nearly 350 years, Spain conquered and settled most of South America, the Caribbean, and the American Southwest.

What are the 3 countries did Spain colonize *?

Mexico, California, and the Philippines are just a few examples, as Spain colonized most of the Americas prolifically, and parts of Africa and Europe.

Which areas were controlled by the Spanish?

Beginning with the 1492 arrival of Christopher Columbus in the Caribbean and gaining control over more territory for over three centuries, the Spanish Empire would expand across the Caribbean Islands, half of South America, most of Central America and much of North America.

Where did Spain control most of the world?

In The Americas they controlled ALL of south America (After the Spanish-Portuguese war Portugal ceded Brazil to Spain), roughly two thirds of what is now the USA, parts of Canada, All of Central America (From Mexico to Panama) and most of the Caribbean.

What are the names of the countries that Spain colonized?

Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico (a U.S. territory, not an independent country), Uruguay, and Venezuela; Jamaica, the Philippines, and Trinidad, where English is now the official language and Spanish is no longer widely spoken;

What kind of power did Spain have in the colonies?

The European colonies were governed with a degree of autonomy, but supreme power was vested in the King of Spain. A series of wars and agreements between the 17th and 19th century saw Spain lose these European colonies.

What are the countries Spain conquered in Africa?

In Africa, the small parts of Morocco bordering Spain was Spanish, as was the Country of Western Sahara (then known as Spanish Sahara) and Spanish Guinea (now Known as Equatorial Guinea ). Also, there was a series of small places in Africa which were ceded by the Portuguese e.g. Sao Tome Principe and Zanzibar etc.